Beverly Hillbillies on the move.

Okay,

Shannon and I headed back to Champaign a couple days ago to drop off our stuff that was claimed by the family.  While we thought we had gotten rid of a lot, we were still pretty loaded down – a full car, a truck fully loaded with a bed strapped to the top, and a uhaul trailer.  We probably looked something a kin to the Beverley Hillbillies.

With such a full load I wasn’t quite sure how my old truck was going to do.  When I pulled out of the driveway and had trouble accelerating to 25mph I got a little bit concerned; the smoking back axle wasn’t a good indicator either.  Turns out I am dumb, which is good, because the only mechanical hindrance was the application of the parking break to the back tires.  Whew.  Other moving joys included a flapping topper door which led to a renegade pillow on the interstate and parking next to a toxic spill at the rest area.  Glad all that is over with.

Hillbillies

Hillbillies

18 thoughts on “Beverly Hillbillies on the move.

  1. Hilarious! I am definitely going to enjoy reading this blog! I thought I would never be able to experience that David Goran humor again– turns out, your writing is pretty funny, too!

    Can’t wait to hear more about your adventures.

  2. Glad you guys survived the trip! It was fun playing tetris with your stuff! Did you get it all in? When I left it looked like you were going to pull it off, did you? Grace and Peace… We’re gonna miss you guys a lot!

  3. I’m so glad you guys are doing a blog. I will be blown away when I see Shannon’s 1st entry. 🙂 So, excited to see you guys in TX soon!
    Miss you already…

  4. I’m excited for your trip to Texas! I’m glad we’ll be able to hear about life so often. It will definitely make it seem like you are not too far away!

  5. Congratulations on your assignment! Shannon, it was great to serve with you on the Kenya mission trip back in 2004. I’m glad everything has worked out as planned for you.

  6. Don’t worry about it dave. I once drove about a third of the way to work with my parking brake on. Suffice it to say, my parking brake no longer exists.

  7. I hate the color yellow……Maybe we are a big, hairy catfish whose ghost has come back to haunt us (and David) for all the times we’ve enjoyed eating them.

  8. Dave & Shannon,

    So glad to hear about the faster-than-expected departure! Sorry we’re just now tapping into the great news. I’m excited for you guys and from one beverly hillbilly moving expert to another: congratulations on the notable adventures.

    thanks for the blogs; it will be great to keep up with you guys throughout the journey.

    Ryan, Amberly, Morgan, & Athan

  9. I miss y’all already!!! We are settling in Boston pretty well…I am trying to start a blog for us, too, so I’ll keep you posted!

Leave a Reply

