Just an update.

Our last couple of weeks have been a little out of control, not in a bad sense, but probably much like yours have been out of control. With the holiday season beginning and more than our fair share of things to accomplish between now and then, we have been feeling a little overwhelmed. However, our ‘overwhelmedness’ this year does not revolve around buying gifts, where to spend the holidays or making an obnoxious amount of cookies…

Two weeks ago, David woke up sick. He stayed in bed for four days, with an 102-degree temperature (I think) most of the time. I thought this would be a good time to test out our local pharmacies.  I went first with a student and she helped me buy some flu medicine and a thermometer. When I asked if I put the thermometer under his tongue, it looked just like an American thermometer, the pharmacist AND the lady behind me both immediately said “NO! You put it under his arm.” They looked at me like I was trying to kill my husband.

Our new Celsius thermometer

Our new Celsius thermometer

I brought the medicine home and tried to look it up on the Internet to get directions. Apparently, it is a German medicine so most websites were in German, Ukrainian or Russian. When I finally found a website in English I discovered that the directions were significantly different than those given to me by the pharmacist.  Three days later, with all the medicine taken, he was still not better. So, I went to the pharmacy again, this time alone, to get him some additional medicine. How did I do this in my limited Ukrainian? Well, let me tell you that acting out a fever, upset stomach and diarrhea is a very humbling experience in front of a bunch of Ukrainians. Especially after I finished my one man show and the pharmacist said in Ukrainian…”diarrhea.”  Apparently the word is the same in Ukrainian.

David finally recovered, but not until after Thanksgiving. We were planning to celebrate with two other American missionary families. David thought it best he stay home and insisted I should still go and celebrate. I went and brought him back a hearty amount of leftovers. In our Thanksgiving recreation were able to find turkeys; we made mashed potatoes, green bean casserole (from scratch), gravy and sweet potatoes. There were even a couple of pumpkin and apple pies. We ended Thanksgiving by watching the previous Sunday’s 49’s vs. Cowboys game. It’s a little weird watching a game were you already know the final score.

Our hostess, Cameron, at the other end

Our hostess, Cameron, at the other end

Last weekend we were able to buy ourselves our first fake Christmas tree. Ukrainians do not celebrate Christmas until January 7th and so their natural trees do not come out until December 23rd or so. I couldn’t wait that long. David kindly and without complaining carried the tree home on a Marshutka (the little mini-buses). We weren’t the only ones on the little bus with a big item.  One other guy had a bunch of large random car parts tied together.  

This last Wednesday was David’s birthday. He had heard about a Chinese restaurant and decided this was how he wanted to celebrate. Yes, you heard that correctly – there is only one Chinese Restaurant (that we know of) in a city of almost 1,000,000 people. Sushi, on the other had, is everywhere. I haven’t quite figured that out yet. The chicken appetizer was a little scary, but his Gung Pao Chicken (yes, gung pao is correct) and my sweet and sour pork were quite delicious.

 

A happy (and full) man

A happy (and full) man

 

David has also recently decided since he can’t hunt, he needs to find a new hobby. He has decided to start painting. I don’t know how those relate exactly, but for his birthday we bought him an easel, canvas, paint and some brushes. I’ll let you know how that goes…

 

You can take the man out of the forest, but you can't always take the forest out of the man

You can take the man out of the forest, but you can't take the forest out of the man

Saturday we had a small get together with our students to play a new board game we have discovered and to decorate our tree. The boys played Settlers and we girls strung together popcorn and cranberries as well as made ornaments for the tree. It was a lot of fun. We’ll let you know what they rest of this season holds for us as it unfolds. I hope y’all had a Happy Thanksgiving.

 

Hard at work playing 'Settlers'

Hard at work playing 'Settlers'

 

Making Christmas ornaments

Making Christmas ornaments

5 thoughts on “Just an update.

  1. Hey Dave and Shannon,

    Sorry Dave to hear about your illness…and good job Shannon illustrating loose stools. Some things are universal and gut wrenching viruses are some of those things.

    Dave, I really like it that you’re taking up painting…that way you can put a bigger deer than me up on the wall! 🙂 You’re not quite filling out that camo shirt like you used to…you’re looking good and trim. We miss you guys and we’re praying for you. Keep the updates coming…we love them!

  2. Well, I’m glad David got better. An illness with a fever that lasts that long can be a little scary. I’m curious about what the “flu medicine” was though. One last thing, I find that picture of David about to paint something somewhat hilarious.

  3. I’m ready to see some of David’s works of art!
    Maybe selling them on etsy? 🙂
    Glad you are recovered too..sickness is SO not fun.
    YAY for a Christmas tree…I made Justin take us out Thanksgiving Day for a tree…I couldn’t wait either…and I knew once Liam arrived it would NOT happen so had to deck the halls asap.
    Praying for you guys!
    Anne (Justin and boys 🙂

Leave a Reply

