A Day in Pictures

So my computer’s home page is set to BBC World News.  I love trying to stay updated, ‘trying’ being the key word.  BBC always has The Day in Pictures and I love it.  I thought this might be a great way to show you all what an average day for us looks like now.  What I discovered is David and I do not have average days.  Every day is so different and usually unpredictable.  I picked this last Thursday (12/11), mainly because of Pilgrims – our large corporate worship.  We tried to do everything as we ‘usually’ do to make this as accurate (and honest) as possible.

David and the Book of Luke

David and the Book of Luke

 

I’m a breakfast eater, which has turned David into a breakfast eater.  This picture was taken after breakfast.  While I continue to get ready in the morning, being a female and all, David usually takes a few quiet moments to himself.  He is currently going through the book of Luke using Tom Wright’s  “For Everyone” series.  Tom Wright is a New Testament Scholar but the series is written for lay people.  It’s amazing and I highly recommend it.   

 

30am

Class started at 9:30am

 

 

 

 

 

 

Like I said, we’re going to be honest with our day.  You will notice that the clock on the wall says 9:35.  Class started at 9:30. Luckily, class is only a ten minute walk and all she does the first 20 minutes is grade everyone’s homework.  Homework, again…will it ever end?

 

Here's my garbage man.

Here's my garbage man.

 

 

 

 

David’s a lucky man.  The dumpsters are only half a block from our apartment and on our way class.  Something that David and I have observed here is all the people that go through the trash.  We’ve learned that items with potential reuse ought to be put beside the dumpsters rather than in them.

 

 

Our school building

Our school building

 

Our language class meets in the Ivan Franko music building.  It is an old monastery that has been converted.  When I say converted, nothing at all has been done to it except desks and chairs added.  Our classroom is a converted monk bedrooms.

 

 

 

 

Our teacher, Pani (Ms.) Irena

Our teacher, Pani (Ms.) Irena

 

Chin Le, Bovin, Fabin, Halid, David, Shannon and Elisa

Our class: Chin Le, Bovin, Fabin, Halid, David, Shannon and Elisa

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We have a ten minute break from 10:50am-11am and then a twenty minute break for lunch, 12:20-12:40pm.  We usually walk to something close by and grab a quick bite.  Today we went to the pastry shop.  The pastries are filled with meats, cheeses and sweets.  They’re fabulous and cheap.  I don’t know if you are able to see the prices, but they range from 2.50 UAH – 4.50 UAH.  The exchange right now is 7.5 UAH : 1 USD.  The exchange usually hovers around 5:1.  This is the largest discrepency in the Ukrainian currency to the dollar in the history of the new currency (introduced in 1996).

Just a hole in the wall - literally

Just a hole in the wall - literally

Waiting to order

Waiting to order

The selection of yummies

The selection of yummies

 

 

 

Our after school break

Our after school break

 

 

After 4 and a half hours of language, we arrived home about 2:20, ate a quick snack, checked email, read some headlines and then returned back to school for a ‘concert’ given by the international students.

 

 

 

David's basketball try-out

David's basketball try-out

 

 

 

 

 

David also packed a bag with all of his basketball gear and took it to the concert.  That day he and another student in our language class talked to the dean about trying out for the University of Ivan Franko’s basketball team.  The dean thought it was a great idea and set up a try-out for them that day at 5pm.  We weren’t sure if the concert would be over before he needed to leave, so he came prepared and it was a good thing he did.  David left for the try-out at 4:20pm.  

 

 

 

 

The concert was good, but long (like this post).   The following pictures are of some of the presentations – all in Ukrainian.  I was quite impressed.

Our friend Mary, who is also an American, singing an African-American Spiritual

Our friend Mary, who is also an American, singing an African-American Spiritual

 

A Ukrainian playing the bandura

Bovin presented on China's fine arts, with the Ukrainian teacher who organized this 'concert'

 

Bovin, sharing about China's fine arts and the Ukrainian teacher who organized the event.

Bovin, sharing about China's fine arts and the Ukrainian teacher who organized the event.

A quick hamburger!

A quick hamburger!

 

 

 

The concert started late, due to technical difficulties (3:45pm, instead of 3pm).  I finally had to leave at a quarter ’til 6pm, to grab dinner and get to the student center.  David and I have been pretty good at staying away from McDonald’s, but this night I was in a hurry and it was on the way.

 

 

 

 

 

 

David met me at the student center after his try-out.  I guess it went well, he was…I’ll let him tell you.  The following pictures are of Pilgrims.  These are a great group of students.  Lubomir preached on taking responsibility.  The students I talked to about it said he related it back to the current Ukrainian government.  Sounds like a good message to me.

David leading worship with Marianna (Ukrainian) and Anita (Nigerian, she's the English teacher at the student center)

David leading worship with Marianna (Ukrainian) and Anita (Nigerian). She's the English teacher at the student center.

 

The students listening to the sermon

The students listening to the sermon

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lubomir, David's co-pastor, giving the message

Lubomir, David's co-pastor, giving the message

 

We always have tea and cookies (fellowship) after Pilgrims.

We always have tea and cookies (fellowship) after Pilgrims.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We finally left the student center about 9:15 pm, after I did some accounting.  It was now time to go home and start our daily  homework.

Arriving home with a little caffeine

Arriving home with a little caffeine

 

 

 

We forgot to take a picture of us ‘in process’ with our homework, but I’m sure you can imagine.  We finished our homework, and finally jumped into bed.  

 

I hope this gives you a feel for a day in Ukraine.  We’ll do it again, so you can see other days and other activities.  Sorry for the length, but I didn’t want you to miss anything.

9 thoughts on “A Day in Pictures

  1. Shannon — Thank you for this post! The length was perfect – I loved seeing what you and Dave are up to. Adam and I were wondering if Dave would try out for the pro-basketball team there, so I was pleased to hear about his try-out for the school team. I’m sure the pro’s will be the next step. 🙂

    We miss you two – we made our Christmas cookies this weekend and I thought of you. All our love, DRU

  2. Oh, this is one of my favorite posts yet. Makes me realize how much I miss you guys as well. Keep on documenting things like this as it makes the distance seem a little less when you do. 🙂

    xo,
    Keri

  3. LOVE it. THANK you for this post! It’s so good to see what you are up to.

    And that’s a great coat you are wearing in the last picture.

    And also. How in the heck does your hair grow so fast? Yeesh, woman. I’ve been growing out my dumb bangs for 8 months now and making little progress.

  4. Great update! David, you are going to have to watch excessive celebration after a fast-break block in Ukraine. They don’t go for that there…and neither do I!

  5. You guys are rockin up the place! way to go on working the international student angle. Their is so much potential in those relationships. Also, the b-ball. Good call! Hockey was the best thing that happened to me in Ukraine. It gave me the needed outlet and open a whole new world of relationships I would never have had. LOVED IT! LOVE IT!

    Now…. is it me or are you guys looking skinnier? You were never heavy, but you alll are looking quite thin. I dropped wait big time. The walking, and the steps 🙂

    You guys are God’s right people, in the right place, at the right time.

  6. Hey you! Thanks so much for the update and pictures. Talking to you guys the other night made us miss you both so much!!!!! I truly hope you are doing well over there – and PLEASE PLEASE let us know if you need ANYTHING – prayers, a good USA treat – anything 🙂 miss you and praying for you!
    Nic

  7. Thanks for the great update, Shannon! And tell David to hurry up and post info about the basketball tryout. It sounds like fun! I loved all of your pictures. Glad you are well. Love,
    Esther

  8. From Jalissa-
    I love you Shannon, I wish you were here!!!
    I liked seeing your pictures!!

    From JaJuan-
    Come home and take me to McDonalds!!

    Sorry- they saw you eating McD’s and that is all they could remember then!! I guess I didn’t realize you were going there to study. What are you studying? Are you studying with other Ukanies??

    Cindy

Leave a Reply

