Ski Trip 2009

Two weeks ago Shannon and I went with about 14 of our students to the Carpathian Mountains for the annual Molod do Isusa Ski Trip Retreat.  This event is one that students look forward to all year as a wonderful time of skiing, food, and fellowship.

Here are a bunch of pictures from the trip.  Notice that there are no pictures of us on the ski slopes; that is because there wasn’t any snow.  We thought about giving it a whirl on slush and rock anyways but then had second thoughts when we remembered that there wasn’t a hospital for miles.  I should have also included a picture and smell file attachment of the wooden outhouse that I avoided at all costs and a picture of one of our students who had a ski outfit that came right out of an 80’s MTV video.  Sorry, I’ll be prepared next year.

 

Posing on a hike....

Posing on a hike....

 

Shannon just threw a screaming snowball at those students heads.

Shannon just threw a screaming snowball at those students heads.

 

Wiped after some intense preaching.

Wiped after some intense preaching.

One delicious, ginormous, spread of Ukrainian food.

One delicious, ginormous, spread of Ukrainian food.

 

The more tolerable and addictive version of Risk

Playing Settlers: The more tolerable and addictive version of Risk

5 thoughts on “Ski Trip 2009

  1. Looks good, Dave. Nice to see some snow balls are being thrown cranium-style. Also, its good to see you represent with the camo. I bet you get some good looks in that wardrobe!

  2. Settlers is ROCKING! We just played for the first time this past Christmas.
    Fun pictures.
    One question? Did you widdle your own skis? 😉

  3. sorry you had no snow. I know that is a big time with the students.

    that’s my settler’s game you are enjoying. think of me everytime you win, becuase frankly, i always win 🙂 Only one time did I not win, and that was when Lubomir made it his personal mission to not let me win. He refused to trade with me at any time during the game. Oh and it was my game, at my house, and my food he was eating – i almost knifed him, but there was witnesses.

    sometimes I could crush that Lubomir, other times i love him to death.

    peace out,
    Fred

Leave a Reply

