Who knew?

I admit it.  I’m one of those people who sometimes looks for other people’s ideas to implement in ministry.  I don’t always find myself that creative, interesting or on top of things to ‘create’ something new every time there is a need.  However, I sometimes find myself sucked into the world of let’s look at everything that’s out there about ministry and then fail to actually do any ministry.  I don’t always know where to look, how to be efficient at it, or even what might be any good once I do find something.

However last week I stumbled upon this great United Methodist resource.  Who knew that a church so big, so diverse, that makes me as mad as it does happy would actually have a resource that would be useful, way over here in Ukraine?

I think what I liked best is that it had some pro-active ministry stuff (prayer) to do together to help with the community I am working with…college students.  It appears to still be a new site/resource, so don’t visit the website expecting all your questions to be answered.  Instead go to the website with excitement for its potential and understanding about its future.  Go there NOW to be involved in their 40 days of prayer for university ministry.

For more information visit the United Methodist Board of Higher Education and Ministry website (www.gbhem.org).  On this page is a tab for Education with a drop down menu that includes Campus Ministry.  Scroll down to Upcoming Events and there you have it…40 Days of Prayer.  It begins August 23rd and it is a prayer guide written by people in college ministry for people in college ministry.  You can also go to http://www.pray40.com, to learn more about it, or here for the actual prayer guide  http://pray40.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/07/40-Days-Devos.pdf.

I started scrolling through it and my campus ministry was there from UT Wesley, as well as people I went to university and seminary with.  It excited me.  Please join me in praying for college students not only in America, but around the world.

And of course, here is the Jesse update…he smiles at people he knows and has starting gripping things this last week.  He loves his Mortimer the Moose.

Dad is so tall.

I still sleep a lot.

But I smile a lot too.

3 thoughts on “Who knew?

Leave a Reply

